Appreciating the Smaller Things

Oftentimes, we all have that feeling of banging are heads against the wall. Trapped between various dedications, tasks, problems, etc., it’s easy to get frustrated when things aren’t the way we wish they were. As a result, our lives are more complicated and stressful then necessary.

This morning, I began my chemistry homework and found that I surprisingly had another assignment that just popped out of nowhere, the portal had said that I was missing a lab that I had just turned in, and on top of that, I needed to study for a history test tomorrow. I felt like I was being pulled into multiple directions, multiple tasks that needed to be completed but I had no time to complete them all. High school is tough, life is tough. Things felt so compressed, as if I were given a basket and told to catch every apple off a tree when all the apples just fell at once. There were so many things being thrown at me, that I didn’t have enough time to catch them all. Tired and brain-dead, I went outside to the backyard to clear my head. It was a warm day and the sun was shining and fall leaves littered the ground. Then I heard a mew and crackling leaves. I turned around to see my kitten, Lola, playing in the leaves. She rolled around in the grass, snatched leaves into the air, and wrestled them as if she didn’t have a care in the world. Life was so simple; just a beautiful day, a bunch of red, yellow and orange leaves, and some grass and she was happy.

untitled

I was entranced, and this got me thinking. Us humans tend to reach for the most complicated, detailed goals or overthink things so much. Animals on the other hand, are perfectly content with the most simplest pleasures, such as Lola’s play in the leaves today. Because humans take the more complicated route of things, we become more greedier, less happy, and less satisfied because our goals require more then what is given. Animals though, can live happily with a good supply to eat, water, shelter, and habitat, extremely basic to our own standards. Therefore, we forget the smaller treasures, such as a beautiful sky, the cool taste of water on a hot day, and of course, the colorful leaves of autumn. We corrupt ourselves with overthinking, selfishness, and overprocessing, with things such as break-ups, money, debt, how we look. We should take the time to step away from the stressful, confusing aspects we have, and look at life with a smaller scale. Take a walk by the beach to appreciate the cold water and warm breeze. Skip through your house in pajamas and don’t care what anybody thinks. Have a picnic in the park with some friends and just enjoy the good lunch, the talk, laughter, and relax. Take time off from the computer!!!! This goes for me too πŸ˜‰ Just live the moment and take in the whole picture, every last part. And love every second of it.

-Heather

2 thoughts on “Appreciating the Smaller Things

  1. Heather this was wonderful- it made me want to go home, rake some leaves and throw my son into the pile like I did when he was a little kid. Thank you for sharing this with me and for taking the time to construct such a moving piece of writing.

    • candy9201 says:

      Thanks Mr. Theriault! πŸ™‚ You are the first person to comment on my posts. I feel so motivated now like I want to write a million more! Your comment made my day πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

